Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Covering the FASA version of Crimson Skies.
User avatar
FF5 MadMaxX
PostsCOLON 78
JoinedCOLON Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:58 pm
LocationCOLON Germany
CONTACTCOLON

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby FF5 MadMaxX » Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:34 am

captnmartin wroteColonThis might be another thing, but when you print out the sheet with Superior weapons, it only says Sup. and does not print out the gun Calibre. Now I can figure it out based on the range, but it would be beneficial to perhaps edit the output on the printed page.

And I tried hand calc some of the aircraft, it would seem that FASA either ignored their scheme, or rounded somewhere. However, I think one of the improvements in the engine, superior engine I believe, or maybe it was light stick, anyways, it should change the value by 50% but I think the program said 1.40 so that might be a value input error. I'll look into it and see if I can narrow it down for you.


The short name of the gun ist printed e.g. "Sup. 30". arrg. i checked it the textbox is too small for the new font size i will fix this.
Light stick has a cost change value of 0.5 this means 50% maybe you also have additional characteristics in use?

foxmalcolm wroteColonThe answer to this is simple . . . do not add them to the main Aircraft Sheet, this is mainly flavour/bling that players would like to use to further enhance their gaming experience.
Add it as a separate page, maybe even as a character information/bios page/dosier [just like in a D&D character generator].


Great idea!

foxmalcolm wroteColon[color=Indigo]To be perfectly honest the best thing you can do is to minimise how much people need to go into the database to make alterations, this will make the design more user-friendly not to mention more convenient to those who don't know or aren't confident enough to make changes on their own.


True you have right, but this will take some time to make sure that the data that exists still works.
this will be something todo when the "flavor" sheet is in work.

User avatar
captnmartin
PostsCOLON 139
JoinedCOLON Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:18 pm
Are you a Human?COLON Yes
LocationCOLON CYWG

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby captnmartin » Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:33 pm

Ok, toodling around with the chance Vought Skewer, I noticed this.

I put on flotation gear, Airframe now 1.3 (30%) more expensive.
Toss on the No Landing Gear trait, Airframe now 0.0999998

Not sure how you set it up to calculate, but to me, the mod percentages should be summed, then applied to the base for calculating cost.

So +30% - 20% = 10%, Airframe Mod 1.10

What is the background Formula running?

User avatar
FF5 MadMaxX
PostsCOLON 78
JoinedCOLON Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:58 pm
LocationCOLON Germany
CONTACTCOLON

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby FF5 MadMaxX » Fri Jan 15, 2010 2:02 pm

Here a small status update:

Bug confirmations:
Bug 1 - special characters like é not shown, this is because I forgot to import all characters into the text fields.

Bug 2
captnmartin wroteColonOk, toodling around with the chance Vought Skewer, I noticed this.

I put on flotation gear, Airframe now 1.3 (30%) more expensive.
Toss on the No Landing Gear trait, Airframe now 0.0999998

Not sure how you set it up to calculate, but to me, the mod percentages should be summed, then applied to the base for calculating cost.

So +30% - 20% = 10%, Airframe Mod 1.10

What is the background Formula running?


My formula just sums up all mods and apply them to the original cost (as you do).
this is just a well known floating point problem if you work with small values like 0.1 and -0.1
if you add them Flash screws up your result. Every time I forgot this problem until it shows up :(
I will fix this with the upcoming update.
The good thing is you can work with the wrong values (and save your aircrafts), because the cost calculation is also done every time you load your aircraft.

User avatar
captnmartin
PostsCOLON 139
JoinedCOLON Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:18 pm
Are you a Human?COLON Yes
LocationCOLON CYWG

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby captnmartin » Fri Jan 15, 2010 3:37 pm

I figured that the bug wouldn't be that big of a deal for saved aircraft ;)

Anyways, glad to help out.

User avatar
FF5 MadMaxX
PostsCOLON 78
JoinedCOLON Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:58 pm
LocationCOLON Germany
CONTACTCOLON

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby FF5 MadMaxX » Mon Jan 18, 2010 11:08 pm

Aeronaut 0.9.2 is out!

Thanks to all who tested it.

The changes:
- Bugfix: Superior and Premium Grade Weapons show now caliber in the print sheet. All "shortnames" are shorter now to fit into the caliber textfields.
- Bugfix: Floating point aircraft cost calculation problem for special characteristics.
- Bugfix: special Characters like "é" are shown now in text fields.
- Enabled window scaling for resolutions below 1280X800
- Added "Autoscroll-Feature" to all numeric steppers (length, height, etc.)
- Pilot sheet now prints foto, flag and squadlogo.
- new offical aircrafts and manufactures added by cptnmartin (Pride of the Republic, Behind the Crimson Veil, Airman's Gazeteer)
- Co-Pilot/Gunner name is now printed in aircraft sheet


@captnmartin:
I changed the manufacturer list a bit, to remove all double entries (I updated all affected aircrafts as well)

@kaffis:
I haven't forgot your problem. Have you read your PMs?

Kaffis
PostsCOLON 83
JoinedCOLON Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:51 am
Are you a Human?COLON Yes

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby Kaffis » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:06 am

Yup, saw the PM. Been out of town, so haven't had a chance to try to duplicate it again and report back with additional info. I ought to get a chance this week.

User avatar
captnmartin
PostsCOLON 139
JoinedCOLON Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:18 pm
Are you a Human?COLON Yes
LocationCOLON CYWG

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby captnmartin » Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:48 pm

I changed the manufacturer list a bit, to remove all double entries


Whoops, didn't even notice... My bad.

User avatar
captnmartin
PostsCOLON 139
JoinedCOLON Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:18 pm
Are you a Human?COLON Yes
LocationCOLON CYWG

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby captnmartin » Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:28 pm

Not sure if Bug or not:

In the options, turned off "Pilots Feat" setting.
Tried to open Pilot Roster page, no longer possible.

Turned setting back on, pilot page functions.

Also, noticed some problems with Aircraft (Brigand had no turret) so I'll be going through them to make sure they are accurate.

User avatar
FF5 MadMaxX
PostsCOLON 78
JoinedCOLON Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:58 pm
LocationCOLON Germany
CONTACTCOLON

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby FF5 MadMaxX » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:14 am

captnmartin wroteColonIn the options, turned off "Pilots Feat" setting.
Tried to open Pilot Roster page, no longer possible.


This is definitely a bug!
The last time I checked this function it runs smooth but now it is broken.
And it sound very similar to Kaffis problem opening the pilot roster...
Maybe he also turned off the feat function and just forget about it.
It will be fixed in the next version!

captnmartin wroteColonAlso, noticed some problems with Aircraft (Brigand had no turret) so I'll be going through them to make sure they are accurate.


maybe the best way is to compare all aircrafts with CADET.
And thanks for your help!

User avatar
captnmartin
PostsCOLON 139
JoinedCOLON Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:18 pm
Are you a Human?COLON Yes
LocationCOLON CYWG

Re: Aeronaut - an Aircraft Designer for CS

Postby captnmartin » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:22 am

And thanks for your help!


You're the one doing most of the work here dude ;) Thanks for this awesome program!


Return to

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 2 and 0 guests

cron